Coimbra Group

About Coimbra Group

Founded in 1985 and formally constituted by Charter in 1987, the Coimbra Group is an association of long-established European multidisciplinary universities of high international standard. The Coimbra Group is committed to creating special academic and cultural ties in order to promote, for the benefit of its members, internationalisation, academic collaboration, excellence in learning and research, and service to society. It is also the purpose of the Group to influence European educational policy and to develop best practice through mutual exchange of experience.



Egmontstraat 11, rue d’Egmont – 1000 Brussels – Belgium
Tel : +32 2 513 83 32
Fax : +32 2 513 64 11

Office Director: Ms Inge Knudsen

Policy Officer: Ms Anna Quici
Policy & Communications Officer: Ms Catarina Moleiro
(Press contact)
Office Assistant: Ms Cristina Tanase

Research Topics and Strategies

The Coimbra Group has a working group on Doctoral Studies, the members of which are heads and senior administrators of doctoral schools at Coimbra group Universities. Read about the Doctoral Studies Working Group and its latest activities here:

Coimbra Group Universities also offer a number of short-stay research scholarships to young researchers from higher education institutions in South Africa. The call for applications is launched every year at the end of January. For further information: