Cape Peninsula University of Technology

About Cape Peninsula University of Technology

Cape Peninsula University of Technology is based in Cape Town. Our vision is to be at the heart of technology education and innovation in Africa. The four aims that comprise our mission:

  • We will build a university that is highly efficient, sustainable and environmentally conscious
  • We will be known for the high quality of our teaching and learning and the relevance of our curriculum
  • We will create a vibrant and well-resourced living and learning environment for our students
  • We will enhance and develop the quality and effectiveness of our research and knowledge production




This section provides administrative support to the Director and Research Directorate staff.

Secretary: Ms Edwina Pedro

Research Finance

Coordinator: Ms Amelia Rorwana

Administrators: Ms Shafeeqa Dramat, Ms Phatiswa Swaartbooi, Mr Marvin la Meyer

Core Values

  • We undertake to deal with others in a spirit of Ubuntu
  • All our interactions will be governed by a spirit of mutual respect
  • We support the principle of equity
  • We will promote innovation in all aspects of our work
  • We will uphold the principle of accountability for our actions
  • We prize excellence
  • We will strive for efficiency in all our operations

Research Topics and Strategies

Bio-economy and biotechnology

Space science and technology


Climate change and environment

Human and social dynamics, including issues related to service delivery

Economic growth and international competitiveness

Design for sustainability

PhD Studies

Faculty of Business and Management Sciences

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Applied Science

Faculty of Health and Wellness

Faculty of Informatics and Design

Faculty of Engineering